Albums Out This Week: W/C 18th May 2009

Finally, the day has arrived which proves that the Manic Street Preachers are willing to accept the truth: they were rubbish without Richard.

Their latest album - which if you read the synopsis of below will tell you comprises lyrics written by Edwards himself - will finally see the band's developed sense of melody and song-writing with the dark beauty of their early lyricism. If this isn't as close as it gets to The Holy Bible: the experiment will have failed.

Familiar faces litter the remainder of the release schedule. Slotting into the "bands you should be able 'yes' to when asked 'have you heard...?'" category are My Latest Novel. We had the chance to catch these fine folk playing live at The Great Escape 2009 (live review here) and to say we were 'blown away' is on a par with claiming that 'the Titanic got a little wet on its maiden voyage. How's that for topical humour!

Speaking of sunken wrecks festering at the bottom of the ocean famous for getting too close to dangerous white objects: Jarvis Cocker has a new album out too!

Manic Street Preachers: Journal For Plague Love

Manic Street Preachers are back with their ninth studio album and it seems like they've garnished a much darker persona since the last album Send Away The Tigers. The album artwork itself is slightly eerie let alone the name of the album and if that isn't enough: the album features lyrics by Richey Edwards who mysteriously vanished from the face of the planet Earth back in 1995. The Japanese release will feature a remix by The New Young Pony Club, just to soften things up for them. 

The Field: Yesterday and Today

The Field's d├ębut album From Here We Go Sublime truly blew us away here at Strange Glue and I'm sure for those that have heard the album will agree. If you haven't heard the beautiful electronica that is The Field then your missing out, you don't even need to respect electronica to find this music enjoyable so for that reason we urge every last one of you to pick up this sophomore. 

Au Revoir Simone : Still Night Still Light

Brooklyn based female trio Au Revoir Simone will be releasing their third album this week, Still Night Still Light will be their first album on the Our Secret Record Company label. The ladies will be touring around America in the coming months to support the release. 

British Sea Power: Man Of Aran

This album is essentially not an album at all, however, it is a completely original soundtrack to a rather interesting documentary called Man Of Aran which British Sea Power wrote all the music to. The British indie legends have produced three albums before this release, all of which have been extremely successful with the critics and fans especially their last Do You Like Rock Music? 

Iron & Wine: Around The Well

Iron and Wine's last album was released back in '07 and since then we haven't heard much from the folk legend. Around The Well is not a new album as such, instead it's a collection of raraties and b-sides from Samuel Beam himself; a compilation that we will definitely not miss out on here at SG. 

Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson: S/T

This release arrived on American shelves last summer, after receiving rave reviews from across the board it will finally be released on British shores. Miles played an awesome set at this years SxSW and the eponymous album has already picked up a great review from one of the lovely SG reviewers so we suggest you pick this one up. You can also read our interview with him HERE

My Latest Novel : Deaths and Entrances

Another album from growing favourites of us here at SGhq, the Scottish chaps will release their sophomore album on Bella Union after a busy year of touring. They've played with British Sea Power, Low, The Dears and the genius Pixies over the past few years so keep an eye out for these guys. 

A Hawk and a Hacksaw: Delivrance

At first impressions most people would expect a band with the name A Hawk And A Hacksaw to be slightly aggressive or at least a bit disturbed; but no, this American duo are saturated in alternative foreign-folk sensibilities from tip to toe. Jeremy Barnes from Neutral Milk Hotel has led the band through four successful records so we have high expectations for this release. 

Jarvis Cocker: Further Complications

Further Complication will be the second album from Brit-pop guru Jarvis Cocker, you can hear the track Angela from the album on Cocker's MySpace. Shellac guitarist Steve Albini produced the album and no doubt helped with some of the writing and recording.  You can catch the new material on his coming tour which will include quite a few festival dates such as Primavera.

Jason Lytle: Yours Truly, The Commuter

Jason Lytle is best known for work with the awesome Grandaddy, this will be his first solo album and his past achievements alone grant this man a listen. From the first listen you can tell that Jason has translated all his previous troubles into musical format, and the translation couldn't be any more fluid. 

John Vanderslice: Romanian Names

This is a promising record from John Vanderslice, the album has already skewed the expectations of most critics and fans but captivated the ears of all so far. You can download the first single for free from John's website, the song's called Too Much Time and we're sure you'll like it. 

Patrick Watson: Wooden Arms

French-Canadian solo artist Patrick Watson started his solo career back in '01, now on his third magnificent album with Secret City Records and he's finally receiving the recognition deserved. One single has already been released with a truly amazing video, the tracks called Fireweed and you can watch it

Steve Earle: Townes

Townes will be the thirteenth album from Texan Steve Earles, the album is a tribute to Steve's friend and mentor Townes Van Zandt who died in '97. Tome Morello from Rage Against The Machine helped record the fifteen cover songs which were all written by Townes himself. 

blog comments powered by Disqus
  • Error. Page cannot be displayed. Please contact your service provider for more details. (14)