Dave Heumann Announces New Coil Sea Record

Tagged with:
Arbouretum  Coil Sea  Dave Heumann 

Written By:

Gavin Riley

05th July 2010
At 16:03 GMT

5 comment(s)

Dave Heumann will add to his impressive discography this summer with another project featuring some of his best pals.

He's announced a band called The Coil Sea and their first record will be released by Thrill Jockey in August.

The Coil Sea is Dave Heumann from the band Arbouretum, making improvised music with Matthew Pierce (keys) and Michael Lowry (drums) who are both members of a long-running, mainly instrumental project called Big in Japan.They invited Dave to sit in with them one night during a course of a month-long residency they were doing at Baltimore's Windup Space.

Heumann then goes on to explain how the rest of the band fell into place:

"It was there that I first played with Michael Kuhl, who played percussion both on that gig and the first Coil Sea session. Jimmy Wallace (guitar) was someone I'd first played music with in high school while growing up in Baltimore's suburbs and had subsequently moved to Asheville, NC. We'd continued to play music informally on occasions when either of us were in the other's town for a visit. Walker Teret (bass) and I had played together in Arbouretum, the Anomoanon, and many other projects."

Very excited about this, we'll have more info on this soon we imagine. We do have the artwork for the LP though, which is below:

blog comments powered by Disqus
  • Error. Page cannot be displayed. Please contact your service provider for more details. (20)