Howling Bells On Second Album

Tagged with:
Howling Bells 

Written By:

Aidan Williamson

15th December 2008
At 14:09 GMT

0 comment(s)

If Baz Luhrmann's $130,000,000 postcard failed to apprise you of the delights of Australia, Howling Bells are waiting in the wings to show you what the country can do: cultural style.

With a phenomenally well-received debut album in their wake, the antipodean quartet have announced its successor: Radio Wars. Album number two has been penciled in for release on February 9, 2009 via Independiente Records.

Front-woman Juanita Stein commented on the direction of the second album during a recent interview with Repeat.

"The first record was more me in my bedroom kind of wallowing over lost love and falling in love – it was a very, very romantic and brooding process. But with this one, it’s pretty much been a unanimous process, like every member of the band has added their flavour and I’d say that 2 or 3 of the standout tracks, were written by Joel alone – everything, including the lyrics! And I’ve had the pleasure of singing them!

"There’s one song in particular called 'How Long?' which is just heart-wrenching. It’s kind of like a ‘50s ballad, but it’s so beautiful."

TRACKLISTING: Howling Bells - 'Radio Wars'

  1. Treasure Hunt
  2. Cities Burning Down
  3. It Ain't You
  4. Nightingale
  5. Let's Be Kids
  6. Ms Bell's Song
  7. Golden Web
  8. Into The Chaos
  9. Digital Hearts
  10. How Long

The band are offering the track Into the Chaos as a free download to anyone signing up to the Howling Bells mailing list. For further details, see their website.

blog comments powered by Disqus