Ivor Novello's Gain A Little Credibility

Written By:

Aidan Williamson

21st April 2009
At 16:37 GMT

0 comment(s)

The Ivor Novello awards have taken a greater stand for music which doesn't rape your very soul this year.

Elbow, The Last Shadow Puppets, Dizzee Rascal, M.I.A and Jonny Greenwood have all received nominations for the 54th incarnation of the awards ceremony. Sadly, The Ting Tings also received a nod, a choice that could land the Novello's back at square one. Square one currently counts Amy Winehouse, The Darkness, Spice Girls, Gary Barlow, Phil Collins and The Feeling amongst its occupants.

Past winners aside, we will discover the 2009 recipients come May 21 when the event takes place in London's Grosvenor House.

The full nomination list looks like so:

Best Song Musically And Lyrically:

The Last Shadow Puppets - 'My Mistakes Were Made For You'
Elbow - 'One Day Like This'
The Leisure Society - 'The Last Of The Melting Snow'

Best Contemporary Song:

Dizzee Rascal - 'Dance Wiv Me'
Elbow - 'Grounds For Divorce'
The Ting Tings - 'That's Not My Name'

Best Original Film Score:

David Arnold - 'Quantum of Solace'
Benjamin Wallfisch - 'The Escapist'
Jonny Greenwood - 'There Will Be Blood'

Best Television Soundtrack:

Ben Bartlett - 'Fiona’s Story'
Anne Dudley - 'Trial and Retribution 2008'
Julian Nott - 'Wallace And Gromit (A Matter of Loaf and Death)'

PRS For Music Most Performed Work:

Duffy - 'Mercy'
Gabriella Cilmi - 'Sweet About Me'
Coldplay - 'Viva La Vida'

Best Selling British Song:

Duffy - 'Mercy'
M.I.A - 'Paper Planes'
Coldplay - 'Viva La Vida'

Album Award:

Duffy - 'Rockferry'
Coldplay - 'Viva La Vida or Death And All His Friends'
The Ting Tings - 'We Started Nothing'

blog comments powered by Disqus
  • Error. Page cannot be displayed. Please contact your service provider for more details. (14)